About Me as Collaborator

 

Involve Community Experts

When working on different projects, whether it is academic, fundraising or personal, I find it useful to include others with more expertise then I have. Finding people who can offer expert advice or experience is important to me.

Establish Norms

Collaborating with people can often be messy when everyone has their own ideas and ways of doing things. I like to establish a set of norms with the group that help everyone to feel included and respected.

Everyone has a Voice

In the picture is a very young student with older ones, an example of sharing between grade 7 and 1 inquiry buddies. Though of limited experience the younger student was able to identify areas for improvement in the playground design and the older student accepted the suggestion and made changes. Everyone has their own perspective, experience and knowledge to share and should be valued.

Flexible Environment

When collaborating with students and adults, I find it necessary to be flexible in the format in which we do so. Whether we talk in a circle as a whole class, have small groups around a collection of desks, use my blog, Google Drive or whatever, one thing doesn’t always work for a given person, at a given time.

Multiple Formats

Similar to the previous caption, everyone is different and therefore a variety of modalities is needed to share their thinking. Writing on sticky notes and placing them anonymously allows comfort for some who are risk adverse. Others may share a video, write, audio record thoughts. Everyone needs an access point.

 

Collaborative Culture

The following link is of a presentation I designed for the Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board to give teachers a quick and easy resource for building a collaborative culture in the classroom.

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1dNG_uFIvthzrfODEYa-5zew5rpkTQf11o2H-8GuK91Y/edit?usp=sharing

 

What is Collaborative Inquiry?

A visual discovery of the term using a concept map.

https://www.mindomo.com/mindmap/collaborative-inquiry-core-concepts-87ce9eead0e8436f88e182a46d80ee0a

I have provided the link above for my concept map on Mindomo. In all honesty, I’m still adjusting, analyzing and working on it. The red bubbles are thoughts or questions for discussion. My thoughts and questions don’t necessarily reflect a fixed view on my part but may be questions I have now or questions that I believe others will pose.

 

Digital Tools Useful for Collaborative Inquiry

The following PowToon presentation highlights a few technological tools I find useful for encouraging collaboration in the classroom.

https://www.powtoon.com/online-presentation/c2FK2VBJZFj/digital-tools-montage/

 

A Design Brief 

 Building Community Connections: Fostering Experiential Learning Opportunities

This Google document is a collaborative inquiry effort put forth by my classmates and I in an attempt to answer the question, “How can a community develop active connections between schools and the wider community to foster real word experiential learning opportunities for students?”

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1nn8vW3RQCOqW7Ickv9-xwRJP7ElaXfE7URaguatoKiA/edit?usp=sharing

 

My Growth So Far……..

The following is a video outlining my experiences during the PME 801 Collaborative Inquiry Course, focusing on some key learning, revelations and thoughts.

https://www.powtoon.com/online-presentation/fkULu7FLagF/?mode=movie#/

What can I say, I like PowToon…..

 

 

 

